All ISAPA Awards

Several IFAPA Awards were presented in June at the 2017 International Symposium of Adapted Physical Activity
(ISAPA) in Daegu, Korea. Following is a summary of these awards and the recipients.

Elly D. Friedman Professional Contribution Award

The Elly D. Friedmann Professional Contribution Award was established in 1989 by Dr. Gudrun Doll-Tepper, Professor, Free University, Berlin, in memory of her close friend and colleague, Dr. Elly D. Friedmann, founder and director of the State Teachers College of Physical Education at Beer-Sheva, Israel. The Elly Friedmann Award is IFAPA’s highest honor.

Elly D. Friedman Professional ContributionThis year’s award recipient was Professor Shayke Hutzler from the Zinman College of Physical Education and Sport Sciences at the Wingate Institute, Israel. In 1987, Professor Hutzler established the Specialization of Rehabilitative Physical Education and Sports for Persons with Disabilities at the Zinman College. He currently serves as the Director of Graduate Studies at the Zinman College. He has served as a visiting lecturer and visiting professor in various academic programs including the Erasmus Mundus Master’s in Adapted Physical Activity in Belgium as well as universities in the Czech Republic, Lithuania, Norway, and Ireland. Professor Hutzler has published more than 70 articles in scientific journals in Israel and the world, most of them in international medical journals. He has also published a number of books in Hebrew. For more than 20 years, Professor Huztler has served on the board of directors for Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly, including serving as editor-in-chief from 2011 to 2016. Since 1998, Professor Hutzler has served on the Executive Committee of the International Federation of Adapted Physical Activity (IFAPA), and from 2007–2011 he served as president of IFAPA. Finally, he hosted the 2015 ISAPA at the Wingate Institute in Israel.

Shayke Hutzler
Elly D. Friedman Professional Contribution Awardee

G. Lawrence Rarick Lecture

Garick LectureThe G. Lawrence Rarick Memorial Lecture was created in 1997 to honor the scholarship and leadership of G. Lawrence Rarick to the field of adapted physical activity. The Lecture recognizes outstanding scholarship with international significance. Normally the lecture is given at ISAPA. However, this year, the Rarick Lecture was presented to Professor Sok Rok Song for his multiple presentations in Korea and in China focusing on PyeongChang Winter Games.

Sok-Rok Song,
Rarick Lecture Awardee

Young Professional Awards

The Elly D. Friedmann Young Professional Awards were created in 1992 by Dr. Claudine Sherrill, Dr. Karen DePauw, and Dr. Gudrun Doll-Tepper to encourage the development of passionate, enthusiastic, and inspirational young professionals in adapted physical activity. IFAPA Awards one Young Professional Award to someone internationally and one to someone from the host country. This year, there were two outstanding international candidates, and the award committee decided to present both candidates with this year’s award. The two recipients were Justin Haegele from the United States and Kwok Ng from Finland. And from Korea, Professor Dong Won Kim.


JustinProfessor Justin Haegele received his doctorate degree from The Ohio State University in 2015. He took his first and current position as an assistant professor at Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA. Between his doctoral work and his time at Old Dominion University, Dr. Haegele has published 31 peer-reviewed articles with an additional 15 in press and many in review. He has seven invited papers, and one book. He has published two book chapters with four more in press. He is truly one of the leading researchers in the world on physical activity for individuals with visual impairments and for children with autism. His extraordinary scholarship led to Dr. Haegele receiving the David P. Beaver Young Professional Award presented by the National Consortium of Physical Education for Individuals with
Disabilities (NCPEID), and the Ruth Abernathy Presidential Scholarship, presented by the Society of Health and  Physical Educators (SHAPE America). In terms of service, Dr. Haegele has continued to be co-director of the Alaska Camp Abilities as well as a specialist at the Connecticut Camp Abilities. He also helped run many sports weekends through the Bureau of Educational Services for the Blind in Connecticut. All this while he still taught full time! He helped start The Physical Activity and Sport Division for the Association for the Education and Rehabilitation of
Individuals with Visual Impairments (AER). He was recently elected to the Leadership Team for Adapted Physical
Education through the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE America).

Justin Haegele,
Young Professional Award

KwokProfessor Kwok Ng received his PhD in sport pedagogy with an emphasis in adapted physical activity from the
University of Jyväskylä, Finland. He has published six articles in peer-reviewed journals, two articles in edited volumes, more than 20 articles and abstracts in refereed conference proceedings, and one book. Dr. Ng has been the European Regional Representative to IFAPA since 2015. In that short time, he has taken on the role of Webmaster and completely transformed and greatly upgraded the IFAPA social presence. He also has worked with our student representative to update our Facebook page. He already has met with the new student representatives to continue to upgrade our online student profiles.

Kwok Ng,
Young Professional Award

Kim DongProfessor Dong Won Kim is with the Department of Special Physical Education, Joongbu University. Dr. Kim has published more than 25 articles focusing on adapted physical education and soccer. He is the member of Korean Paralympic Committee, the Disabled Sports Rights Protection Committee, and member of Korea Disabled Rehabilitation Association Committee.

Dong Won Kim,
Young Professional Award


Written by Martin Block, IFAPA President

Back to the newsletter