IFAPA Fellow Recognition

The purpose of the IFAPA Fellows program is to recognize and promote outstanding accomplishments in scholarship and service by IFAPA members. Fellow status is presented to IFAPA members who have made significant and sustained contributions to scholarship (research and creative activity) and related service in the field of adapted physical activity.

IFAPA Fellow Selection Criteria. Nominees for Fellow status must be current IFAPA members who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in adapted physical activity through professional involvement over a period of at least five years and meet at least three of the following criteria.
• Service in the public or private sector within a community or educational setting.
• Significant contributions to the professional literature and/or creative works.
• Sustained involvement in leadership activities.
• Other evidence of leadership including service to the community at large.

IFAPA Fellow Nomination Process. A call for nominations will be published in the IFAPA Newsletter and on the IFAPA website by September 1 annually. Nominations packets will be submitted by December 1 annually. Prospective IFAPA Fellows must be nominated by a current IFAPA member.

IFAPA Fellow Selection Process. An 8-member Nominations Committee will be appointed by the IFAPA President, consisting of a chair (at-large appointee) and 7 members representing each of the IFAPA regions. All committee members will be current IFAPA members who have achieved Fellow status. The Committee will review and evaluate nominations and make a recommendation for Fellow selection to the IFAPA President by January 1 annually. There will be no limit to the number of Fellows that may be recognized, allowing the committee to recommend Fellow status without restrictions.

IFAPA Fellow Recognition. The IFAPA President will notify and congratulate new Fellows by email by February 1. Each Fellow will receive a certificate acknowledging induction into the IFAPA Fellows program. The Nominations Committee Chair will submit a list of new fellows for publication in the IFAPA Newsletter and on the IFAPA website. The list will be accompanied by a 100-word summary of the fellow’s accomplishments. Every two years there will be a recognition ceremony at the ISAPA Conference for all Fellows inducted during the preceding two years.

Nominees Not Selected. The IFAPA President will notify those nominees that are not recommended for Fellow status by the committee. Those names will be carried over to the next year’s selection process for a maximum period of two years.

IFAPA Fellows

IFAPA Fellows 2010 (Elected at Board Meeting)

Gudron Doll-Tepper
Claudine Sherrill
Karen DePauw
Gregory Reid

IFAPA Fellows 2011 (Paris ISAPA)

Martin E. Block
Mariusz B. Damentko
Lena Fung
Donna L. Goodwin
Yeshayahu “Shayke” Hutzler
E. Michael Loovis
David L. Porretta
Pauli O. Rintala
Glenn M. Roswal
Clermont Simard
Dale A. Ulrich

IFAPA Fellows 2013 (Turkey ISAPA)

Cindy Sit

IFAPA Fellows 2015 (Israel ISAPA)

Michelle Grenier
Lauren Lieberman
Laurie Malone

IFAPA Fellows 2019 (Charlottesville ISAPA)

Aija Klavina
Claire Boursier
Diana Rėklaitienė
Dilara Ozer
Maria Dinold
Jūratė Požėrienė
Yan Lu
Martin Kudlacek
Natalia Morgulec-Adamowicz
Ogu Okey Charles

IFAPA Fellows 2021 (Online, hosted by Jyväskylä ISAPA)

Aija Saari
Deborah Shapiro
Iva Obrusnikova
John Foley
Tarja Javanainen-Levonen
Viviene Temple

IFAPA Fellows 2023 (Dunedin ISAPA)

Omar Hindawi
Chien-yu Pan
Meghann Lloyd
Justin Haegele