The International Federation of Adapted Physical Activity (@ifapanet) is proud to announce a call for nominations for two prestigious awards and the IFAPA Fellows Program.

Since 1991, IFAPA has given the Elly D. Friedmann Award for Outstanding Adapted Physical Activity Contributions, and beginning in 1993, IFAPA has given the Young Professional Award in Adapted Physical Activity. The IFAPA Fellows Program was established in 2010.

Please see criteria and lists of previous winners below. These awards will be presented at the 22nd International Symposium for Adapted Physical Activity (ISAPA) in Charlottesville, Virginia, USA June 14-18, 2019. Please submit nominations no later than April 1, 2019 to IFAPA President Martin Block, Professor, University of Virginia, via email at

The nomination packet should include the nominee’s CV and a one page (300-400 word) letter of support/biographical sketch of the individual, highlighting major accomplishments in the field of APA.

The Elly D. Friedmann Award for Outstanding APA Contribution

The Elly D. Friedmann Award for Outstanding Adapted Physical Activity Contributions was established in 1989 by Dr. Gudrun Doll-Tepper, Professor, Free University Berlin, in memory of her close friend and colleague, Dr. Elly D. Friedmann, Founder and Director of the State Teachers College of Physical Education at Beer-Sheva, Israel, and pioneer in APA. This award recognizes longstanding leadership in the field of APA.
Previous recipients include:
1991 Dr Claudine Sherrill, USA
1993 Dr Ernst J. Kiphard, Germany
1995 Inge Morisbak, Norway
1997 Dr Julian U. Stein, USA
1999 Dr Atara Sherman, Israel
2001 Dr Kurt-Alphons Jochheim, Germany
2003 Dr Kyonsuke Yabe & Dr Yang Ja Hong, Japan and Korea
2005 Josef Lev, Israel
2007 Dr Herman Van Coppenolle, Belgium
2009 Dr Hana Valkova, Czech Republic
2011 Dr. Hideo Nakata, Japan
2013 Dr. Karen DePauw, USA
2015 Dr. Greg Reid, Canada
2017 Dr. Shayke Hutzler, Israel

The Young Professional Award in Adapted Physical Activity

This award recognizes the development of “passionate enthusiasm and inspiration” in young adapted physical activity professionals. It was initiated Dr Claudine Sherrill, with the help of Dr Karen DePauw and Dr Gudrun Doll-Tepper in 1993. The goal of the award is to encourage, recognize, and support young professionals interested in APA. Eligibility for the Young Professional Award is restricted to professionals less than 40 years of age. One Young Professional Award is made by IFAPA and a second one by the local organizing committee of the Symposium.
Previous recipients include:
1993 Harold von Selzam & Kazumi Tsukagoshi, Germany, Japan
1995 Pilvikki Heikinaro-Johansson & Heidi Anne Peterson, Finland, Norway
1997 Lauren Lieberman & Pascale Poirier, USA, Canada
1999 Deena Scoretz & Anna Fillat, Canada, Spain
2001 Andrea Scherney & Christoph Lienert, Austria, USA/Germany
2003 Lisa Silliman-French & Kwang-Jin Oh, USA, South Korea
2005 Peter Van de Vliet & Stefano Frassinelli, Belgium, Italy
2007 Simon Driver & Jose Angelo Barela, USA, Brazil
2009 Cindy H.P. Sit, Hong Kong
2011 Aija Klavina; Steffi de Jong & Pierre Bataille; Latvia, Netherlands, France
2013 Bartosz Molik & Mehmet Ata Ozturk/Aysen Cevik, Poland, Turkey
2015 Meghann Lloyd & Sharon Barak, Canada, Israel
2017 Kwok Ng, Finland, Justin Haegele, USA

IFAPA Fellow Recognition

The purpose of the IFAPA Fellows program is to recognize and promote outstanding accomplishments in scholarship and service by IFAPA members. Fellow status is presented to IFAPA members who have made significant and sustained contributions to scholarship (research and creative activity) and related service in the field of adapted physical activity. Nominees for Fellow status must be current IFAPA members who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in adapted physical activity through professional involvement over a period of at least five years and meet at least three of the following criteria.
• Service in the public or private sector within a community or educational setting
• Significant contributions to the professional literature and/or creative works
• Sustained involvement in leadership activities
• Other evidence of leadership including service to the community at large

IFAPA Fellows

IFAPA Fellows 2010 – Gudron Doll-Tepper, Claudine Sherrill, Karen DePauw, Gregory Reid

IFAPA Fellows 2011 – Martin E. Block, Mariusz B. Damentk, Lena Fung, Donna L. Goodwin, Yeshayahu “Shayke” Hutzler, E. Michael Loovis, David L. Porretta, Pauli O. Rintala, Glenn M. Roswal, Clermont Simard, Dale A. Ulrich

IFAPA Fellows 2013 – Cindy Sit

IFAPA Fellows 2015 – Michelle Grenier, Lauren Lieberman, Laurie Malone