2021 Call for Nominations for IFAPA Awards

IFAPA is proud to announce a call for nominations for two prestigious awards. Since 1991, IFAPA has given the Elly D. Friedmann Award for Outstanding Adapted Physical Activity Contributions, and beginning in 1993, IFAPA has given the Young Professional Award in Adapted Physical Activity. Please see the eligibility criteria and lists of previous winners below. These awards will be presented at the virtual 23rd International Symposium for Adapted Physical Activity (ISAPA) in Finland, June 2021. Please submit nominations no later than March 1, 2021 to IFAPA President David Legg, Professor, Mount Royal University, via email at dlegg@mtroyal.ca. The nomination packet should include the nominee’s CV and a one-page (300-400-word) letter of support/biographical sketch of the individual, highlighting major accomplishments in the field of APA.

The Elly D. Friedmann Award for Outstanding Adapted Physical Activity Contribution

The Elly D. Friedmann Award for Outstanding Adapted Physical Activity Contributions was established in 1989 by Dr. Gudrun Doll-Tepper, Professor, Free University Berlin, in memory of her close friend and colleague, Dr. Elly D. Friedmann, Founder and Director of the State Teachers College of Physical Education at Beer-Sheva, Israel, and pioneer in APA. This award recognizes longstanding leadership in the field of APA.

Previous recipients include:

1991    Dr Claudine Sherrill, USA

1993    Dr Ernst J. Kiphard, Germany

1995    Inge Morisbak, Norway

1997    Dr Julian U. Stein, USA

1999    Dr Atara Sherman, Israel

2001    Dr Kurt-Alphons Jochheim, Germany

2003    Dr Kyonsuke Yabe & Dr Yang Ja Hong, Japan and Korea

2005    Josef Lev, Israel

2007    Dr  Herman Van Coppenolle, Belgium

2009    Dr Hana Valkova, Czech Republic

2011    Dr. Hideo Nakata, Japan

2013    Dr. Karen DePauw, USA

2015    Dr. Greg Reid, Canada

2017    Dr. Yeshayahu Hutzler, Israel

2019    Dr. Pauli Rintala, Finland

The Young Professional Award in Adapted Physical Activity

This award recognizes the development of “passionate enthusiasm and inspiration” in young adapted physical activity professionals. It was initiated Dr Claudine Sherrill, with the help of Dr Karen DePauw and Dr Gudrun Doll-Tepper in 1993. The goal of the award is to encourage, recognize, and support young professionals interested in APA. Eligibility for the Young Professional Award is restricted to professionals less than 40 years of age. One Young Professional Award is made by IFAPA and a second one by the local organizing committee of the Symposium.

Previous recipients include:

1993    Harold von Selzam & Kazumi Tsukagoshi, Germany, Japan

1995    Pilvikki Heikinaro-Johansson & Heidi Anne Peterson, Finland, Norway

1997    Lauren Lieberman & Pascale Poirier, USA, Canada

1999    Deena Scoretz & Anna Fillat, Canada, Spain

2001    Andrea Scherney & Christoph Lienert, Austria, USA/Germany

2003    Lisa Silliman-French & Kwang-Jin Oh, USA, South Korea

2005    Peter Van de Vliet & Stefano Frassinelli, Belgium, Italy

2007    Simon Driver & Jose Angelo Barela, USA, Brazil

2009    Cindy H.P. Sit, Hong Kong

2011    Aija Klavina; Steffi de Jong & Pierre Bataille; Latvia, Netherlands, France

2013    Bartosz Molik & Mehmet Ata Ozturk/Aysen Cevik, Poland, Turkey

2015    Meghann Lloyd & Sharon Barak, Canada, Israel

2017    Justin Haegele & Kwok Ng, USA, Finland

2019    Chunxiao Li & Andy Colombo-Dougovito ; Singapore, USA