The purpose of the IFAPA Fellows program is to recognize and promote outstanding accomplishments in scholarship and service by IFAPA members. Fellow status is presented to IFAPA members who have made significant and sustained contributions to scholarship (research and creative activity) and related service in the field of adapted physical activity.

IFAPA Fellows Selection Criteria:

  1. Current IFAPA member
  2. Accomplishments in adapted physical activity through professional involvement over a period of at least five years
  3. Nominee must also meet at least three of the following criteria:
  4. Service in the public or private sector within a community or educational setting
  5. Significant contributions to the professional literature and/or creative works
  6. Sustained involvement in leadership activities
  7. Other evidence of leadership including service to the community at large

Nomination Procedures:

  1. Nominations may be made by any current member of IFAPA
  2. Nomination committee will review and evaluate the prospective fellows’ packet and make a recommendation to the IFAPA President
  3. Nomination packets shall be submitted to IFAPA President David Legg (dlegg@mtroyal.ca)
  4. Deadline for nominations – March 1, 2021

IFAPA Fellows Recognition:

  1. An award certificate shall be presented to each recipient inducted into the Fellows Program
  2. A list of new fellows shall be published in the IFAPA newsletter and on the IFAPA website
  3. Each recipient will have a 100-word summary of his/her accomplishments
  4. Recognition ceremony to officially induct the fellow(s) will take place every two years at the ISAPA Symposium

List of IFAPA Fellows:

IFAPA Fellows 2010 (Awarded IFAPA Board Meeting)

Karen DePauw

Gudron Doll-Tepper

Gregory Reid

Claudine Sherrill

IFAPA Fellows 2011 (Awarded ISAPA, Paris, France)

Martin E. Block

Mariusz B. Damentko

Lena Fung

Donna L. Goodwin

Yeshayahu “Shayke” Hutzler

Michael Loovis

David L. Porretta

Pauli O. Rintala

Glenn M. Roswal

Clermont Simard

Dale A. Ulrich

IFAPA Fellows 2013 (Awarded ISAPA, Istanbul, Turkey)

Cindy Sit

IFAPA Fellows 2015 (Awarded ISAPA, Netanya, Israel)

Michelle Grenier

Lauren Lieberman

Laurie Malone

IFAPA Fellows 2017 (Awarded ISAPA, Daegu, South Korea)

No Recipients

 IFAPA Fellows 2019 (Awarded ISAPA, Charlottesville, VA, USA)

Claire Boursier

Ogu Okey Charles

Maria Dinold

Aija Klavina

Martin Kudlacek

Yan Lu

Natalia Morgulec-Adamowicz

Dilara Ozer

Jurate Pozeriene

Diana Reklaitiene